World Council of Credit Unions
Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn  YouTube 



Offer hardworking families a chance to take their first step out of poverty. Learn more.

Give Today!

Distinguished Service Award


Accepting Nominations Until March 9, 2015

Download the DSA nomination criteria and nomination form

World Council's Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is the highest honor paid to individuals and institutions by the worldwide credit union movement. Created to recognize outstanding contributions to international credit union development, Distinguished Service Awards are presented each year at World Council's World Credit Union Conference.

The 2015 Distinguished Service Award will be presented during the World Credit Union Conference, July 12-15, in Denver, Colorado, USA. World Council member organizations and their affiliates may submit nominations in the following categories:

Individual Category:

Women and men who have provided exemplary service to the international credit union movement and have positively influenced credit union development outside their home country qualify for the individual category. No more than three individual awards may be granted each year.

Individuals nominated for the award should demonstrate some or all of the following:

  • Personal history of commitment to international credit union development outside the nominee's home country.
  • A record of technical service to the development of other credit union movements beyond their own national boundaries.
  • Ongoing institutional development by playing a leading role in advancing World Council.
  • Ability to locate and mobilize resources needed by World Council and its affiliates to establish strong credit union movements wherever they are sought.

Institutional Category:

Organizations that have provided financial and technical assistance over an extended
period of time to develop international credit union movements and their service infrastructure may be nominated in the institutional category. No more than one institutional award may be granted each year.

Institutions nominated for the DSA must meet the following qualifications:

  • Ongoing commitment to international credit union development for more than three years.
  • Technical assistance provided beyond the nominee's borders has led to measurable results within the region receiving it and has an ongoing history following the end of the period of assistance.
  • The range of programs funded has led to concrete changes and development as anticipated beyond their borders.

DSA nominations are due by 11:59pm on Monday, March 9, 2015.
Contact: Lili Tangwall,, +1-608-395-2043

Congratulations to the Winners of the Distinguished Service Award!

2014 DSA Winners

Rob Nicholls
Director, New Zealand Association of Credit Unions
Former CEO Australian National Credit Union
Former World Council of Credit Unions Director
Michael Koisen
Papua New Guinea
President, Papua New Guinea Federation of Savings & Loan Societies
Chairman, Oceanic Confederation of Credit Union Leagues
Director, Association of Asian Confederation of Credit Unions

2013 DSA Winners

Pete Crear
Former President and CEO, World Council of Credit Unions
Former Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Credit Union National Association

Melvin Edwards
St. Kitts and Nevis
Director, Development Co-operators Inc.
Former Chair, Caribbean Confederation of Credit Unions
Former Chair, World Council of Credit Unions

Pat Fay
Director, Irish League of Credit Unions
Former Chief Operations Officer and Head of Monitoring, Irish League of Credit Unions

2012 DSA Winner

Barry Jolette
President and CEO, San Mateo Credit Union (Redwood City, California)
Former Director, World Council of Credit Unions

2011 DSA Winner

Jim McMahon
Former President, Irish League of Credit Unions
Director, Clones Credit Union (Mullanamoy, Clones, Co Monaghan)

2010 DSA Winners

Harriet May
President and CEO, Government Employees Credit Union (El Paso, Texas)
Former Chair, Credit Union National Association

Lech Kaczyński
Former President of Poland
President Kaczyński played a central role in helping establish a credit union movement in Poland

Credit Union Executives Society

2009 DSA Winners

  • David Chatfield - USA
  • Wayne Nygren - Canada

2008 DSA Winners

  • Chris Baker - USA
  • Karen Schwartz - USA
  • Credit Union Foundation of Australia (CUFA)

2007 DSA Winners

  • L.R. Bobby McVeigh - Canada
  • Foundation for Polish Credit Unions - Poland

2006 DSA Winner

  • John Hume - Ireland

2005 DSA Winners

  • Gerry Foley - Ireland
  • Roman Catholic Church - Vatican City

2003 DSA Winners

  • Henry Cruz - USA
  • Joseph Cugini - USA
  • Dennis Cutter - USA
  • John Nicholson - Canada
  • Alan Parry - Australia
  • Reverend James Oswald Thorbourne - Jamaica
  • Herb Wegner (posthumous) - USA
  • U.S. Peace Corps - USA

2000 DSA Winners

  • Angel Castro - Panama
  • Al Charbonneau - Canada & USA
  • Rose Dorman - Great Britain
  • Renford Douglas - Jamaica
  • Michael Sang-Ho Lee - Korea
  • Tod Manrell - Canada
  • Hermann Schulze-Delitzsch - Germany
  • Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen - Germany
  • Alphonse and Dorimène Desjardins - Canada
  • Edward A. Filene - USA
  • Roy Frederick Bergengren - USA

1997 DSA Winners

  • Everard Dean (posthumous) - Trinidad and Tobago
  • Augustine Kang - Asia
  • Augustine "Gus" Murray (posthumous) - Ireland
  • Joe Perkowski - USA
  • O.W.A. Baron von Verschuer - Netherlands
  • Albert E. Williams (posthumous) - USA
  • Canadian Co-operative Association - Canada

1994 DSA Winners

  • Florencio Eguía Villaseñor - México
  • Henry William (Bill) Howe - Australia
  • William A. Atkins - USA
  • Richard M. Heins, Ph.D. - USA
  • Alex Gracie - Canada
  • Robert L. Wermuth - USA
  • ILCU International Development Foundation, Ltd. - Ireland
  • Credit Union Foundation - USA

1991 DSA Winners

  • Armando Terán - Panamá
  • Colin Smith (posthumous) - New Zealand
  • R.C. Robertson - USA
  • R.C. Morgan (posthumous) - USA
  • Paul Hebert - USA
  • Jack Dublin - USA
  • United States Agency for International Development
  • Canadian International Development Agency

1988 DSA Winners

  • Bartholomew Quainoo - Ghana
  • Kenneth Miller - Australia
  • Robert Ingram - Canada
  • Lorrell S. Bruce - Jamaica
  • Konrad Adenauer Foundation - Federal Republic of Germany
  • CUNA Mutual Insurance Group - USA

1986 DSA Winners

  • A. A. Bailey - Jamaica & USA
  • Marion Ganey - USA & Fiji
  • A. Rod Glen - Canada
  • MISEREOR - Federal Republic of Germany
  • Coady International Institute - Canada

Home > Member Services > Recognition > Distinguished Service Award

About World Council of Credit Unions 

Financial Inclusion 

Member Services 

Policy & Advocacy 

Events & Education 

Get Involved