Home > Member Services > Recognition > Distinguished Service Award

September 3, 2015   

Recognition // Distinguished Service Award


Accepting Nominations Until March 9, 2015

Download the DSA nomination criteria and nomination form

World Council's Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is the highest honor paid to individuals and institutions by the worldwide credit union movement. Created to recognize outstanding contributions to international credit union development, Distinguished Service Awards are presented each year at World Council's World Credit Union Conference.

The 2015 Distinguished Service Award will be presented during the World Credit Union Conference, July 12-15, in Denver, Colorado, USA. World Council member organizations and their affiliates may submit nominations in the following categories:

Individual Category:

Women and men who have provided exemplary service to the international credit union movement and have positively influenced credit union development outside their home country qualify for the individual category. No more than three individual awards may be granted each year.

Individuals nominated for the award should demonstrate some or all of the following:

Institutional Category:

Organizations that have provided financial and technical assistance over an extended
period of time to develop international credit union movements and their service infrastructure may be nominated in the institutional category. No more than one institutional award may be granted each year.

Institutions nominated for the DSA must meet the following qualifications:

DSA nominations are due by 11:59pm on Monday, March 9, 2015.
Contact: Lili Tangwall, ltangwall@woccu.org, +1-608-395-2043

Congratulations to the Winners of the Distinguished Service Award!

2014 DSA Winners

Rob Nicholls
Director, New Zealand Association of Credit Unions
Former CEO Australian National Credit Union
Former World Council of Credit Unions Director
Michael Koisen
Papua New Guinea
President, Papua New Guinea Federation of Savings & Loan Societies
Chairman, Oceanic Confederation of Credit Union Leagues
Director, Association of Asian Confederation of Credit Unions

2013 DSA Winners

Pete Crear
Former President and CEO, World Council of Credit Unions
Former Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Credit Union National Association

Melvin Edwards
St. Kitts and Nevis
Director, Development Co-operators Inc.
Former Chair, Caribbean Confederation of Credit Unions
Former Chair, World Council of Credit Unions

Pat Fay
Director, Irish League of Credit Unions
Former Chief Operations Officer and Head of Monitoring, Irish League of Credit Unions

2012 DSA Winner

Barry Jolette
President and CEO, San Mateo Credit Union (Redwood City, California)
Former Director, World Council of Credit Unions

2011 DSA Winner

Jim McMahon
Former President, Irish League of Credit Unions
Director, Clones Credit Union (Mullanamoy, Clones, Co Monaghan)

2010 DSA Winners

Harriet May
President and CEO, Government Employees Credit Union (El Paso, Texas)
Former Chair, Credit Union National Association

Lech Kaczyński
Former President of Poland
President Kaczyński played a central role in helping establish a credit union movement in Poland

Credit Union Executives Society

2009 DSA Winners

2008 DSA Winners

2007 DSA Winners

2006 DSA Winner

2005 DSA Winners

2003 DSA Winners

2000 DSA Winners

1997 DSA Winners

1994 DSA Winners

1991 DSA Winners

1988 DSA Winners

1986 DSA Winners