Still Time to Submit Distinguished Service Award Nominations

World Council to present top credit union award in Gdańsk, Poland

February 21, 2012

2012_2_21_2011 DSA winner MacMahon
World Council Director Ron Hance (left) presents the 2011 Distinguished Service Award to Jim McMahon, Irish League of Credit Unions, last year in Glasgow.  

MADISON, Wis. — Some of the most influential individuals and organizations in the credit union world have one thing in common — they have been the recipients of World Council of Credit Unions' Distinguished Service Award (DSA). Now is the time to nominate candidates for the 2012 DSA, which will be presented in July at World Council's World Credit Union Conference in Gdańsk, Poland. Nominations must be made by March 30, 2012, in order to be considered for the award.

The DSA, first presented in 1986, is bestowed only in years in which the World Council awards committee believes there are candidates worthy of the honor. To date, World Council has recognized 67 individuals and organizations through the DSA and is hoping to add a few more names to the list during this year's conference, according to World Council Director Ron Hance.

"The global credit union movement is built on the contributions and sacrifice of those committed to financial cooperatives," said Hance, president and CEO of Heritage Family Credit Union in Rutland, Vt. (USA), and chair of the World Council awards committee. "The Distinguished Service Award recognizes the best of the best, and I believe there are still many such honors waiting to be bestowed."

The DSA honors the exceptional achievements of individuals and organizations whose activities have furthered World Council's vision of "improving people's lives through credit unions." Individual recipients may be World Council member organization officers, directors or representatives; international credit union pioneers; field technicians with long and outstanding service records; or individuals whose actions have benefitted global credit union development. World Council presents up to three individual awards in a single year.

Institutional recipients may be organizations or agencies that have assisted with developing international credit union movements and service infrastructures over an extended period of time. World Council presents only one institutional award each year.

Nominations must be made by a World Council member organization (see and are due no later than March 30, 2012.

For more information on the DSA and to download a nomination form, visit

For more information on the 2012 World Credit Unions Conference, please visit

World Council of Credit Unions is the global trade association and development agency for credit unions. World Council promotes the sustainable development of credit unions and other financial cooperatives around the world to empower people through access to high quality and affordable financial services. World Council advocates on behalf of the global credit union system before international organizations and works with national governments to improve legislation and regulation. Its technical assistance programs introduce new tools and technologies to strengthen credit unions' financial performance and increase their outreach.

World Council has implemented 300+ technical assistance programs in 89 countries. Worldwide, 68,882 credit unions in 109 countries serve 235 million people. Learn more about World Council's impact around the world at

NOTE: Click on photos to view/download in high resolution.

Organization: World Council of Credit Unions
Phone: (608) 395-2000