WOCCU Calls for Distinguished Service Award Nominations

January 27, 2010

WOCCU's Distinguished Service Award is the highest honor bestowed by the global credit union movement.

MADISON, Wis. — World Council of Credit Unions (WOCCU) has issued a call for nominations for the prestigious Distinguished Service Award (DSA), the highest honor bestowed by the international credit union system. Nomination forms are due no later than April 5, 2010.

Each year, the Distinguished Service Award honors the outstanding achievements of its recipients to the global credit union movement. WOCCU's mission is worldwide credit union representation and development, and DSA recognizes the most distinguished achievements in support of that mission. The award is presented to individuals and organizations that have offered exemplary service to the credit union movement and its practices.

The DSA honor is not given every year; its presentation is governed by the viability and worthiness of candidates in the eyes of the judges. Award presentations this year will be made at The 1 Credit Union Conference, a joint enterprise of both WOCCU and Credit Union National Association, WOCCU's U.S. member organization. The conference is scheduled for July 11-14 in Las Vegas, Nev., USA.

"I encourage global credit union leaders to look for candidates within their own credit union communities who have distinguished themselves in serving the needs of others," said Ron Hance, chairman of WOCCU's awards committee, a member of its board of directors and president/CEO of Heritage Family Credit Union in Rutland, Vt. "Being honored through DSA offers profound testimony to recipients' past credit union achievements on the local as well as global levels."

In the case of individuals, recipients may be WOCCU and member organization officers, directors or representatives; international credit union pioneers; field technicians with a long and outstanding service record; or persons whose actions have benefitted global credit union development. No more than three individual awards may be presented in a single year. Institutional recipients may be organizations or agencies that have provided financial and technical assistance to develop international credit union movements and their service infrastructures over an extended period of time. No more than one institutional award may be granted each year.

Nominations must be made by a WOCCU member organization and are due no later than Monday, April 5, 2010. For more information on the DSA Award and to download a nomination form, visit the WOCCU Website at

For more information on the DSA program, contact Liliana Tangwall, credit union analyst, at or (608) 395-2043.

World Council of Credit Unions is the global trade association and development agency for credit unions. World Council promotes the sustainable development of credit unions and other financial cooperatives around the world to empower people through access to high quality and affordable financial services. World Council advocates on behalf of the global credit union system before international organizations and works with national governments to improve legislation and regulation. Its technical assistance programs introduce new tools and technologies to strengthen credit unions' financial performance and increase their outreach.

World Council has implemented 300+ technical assistance programs in 89 countries. Worldwide, 68,882 credit unions in 109 countries serve 235 million people. Learn more about World Council's impact around the world at

NOTE: Click on photos to view/download in high resolution.

Organization: World Council of Credit Unions
Phone: (608) 395-2000