WOCCU DSA Nominations Deadline Draws Near

Distinguished Service Award Honors Exemplary Service to Global CU Movement

March 01, 2010

2010_3_1_David Chatfield receives 2009 DSA
David Chatfield, USA, (left) receives a 2009 WOCCU Distinguished Service Award from WOCCU director and awards committee chair Ron Hance, USA.

MADISON, Wis. — The nomination deadline for World Council of Credit Unions' (WOCCU) prestigious Distinguished Service Award (DSA), the highest honor bestowed by the international credit union system, is drawing near. Nomination forms are due to WOCCU headquarters no later than April 5, 2010.

Each year, the Distinguished Service Award honors the outstanding contributions of its recipients to the global credit union movement. WOCCU's vision is "Improving people's lives through credit unions," and the DSA recognizes the most distinguished achievements in support of that pursuit. The award is presented to individuals and organizations that have offered exemplary service to the credit union movement and its practices.

WOCCU does not give the DSA honor every year; its presentation is governed by the viability and worthiness of candidates in the eyes of the judges. Award presentations this year will be made at The 1 Credit Union Conference, a joint enterprise of both WOCCU and Credit Union National Association, WOCCU's U.S. member organization. The conference is expected to attract attendees from more than 60 countries, July 11-14 in Las Vegas, Nev., USA.

2010_3_1_Wayne Nygren receives DSA
Hance (right) presents a 2009 Distinguished Service Award to Wayne Nygren, Canada.

In the case of individuals, recipients may be WOCCU and member organization officers, directors or representatives; international credit union pioneers; field technicians with a long and outstanding service record; or persons whose actions have benefitted global credit union development. Institutional recipients may be organizations or agencies that have provided financial and technical assistance to develop international credit union movements and their service infrastructures over an extended period of time. WOCCU will present no more than three individual awards and one institutional award in a single year.

In 2009, WOCCU bestowed the DSA to David Chatfield, former president and CEO of the California and Nevada Credit Union Leagues, USA; and Wayne Nygren, former president and CEO of Credit Union Central of British Columbia, now Central 1 Credit Union, Canada. In 2008, honors went to Chris Baker and Karen Schwartz, both economic development pioneers from the United States, and Credit Union Foundation Australia.

Nominations must be made by a WOCCU member organization and are due no later than Monday, April 5, 2010. For more information on the award and to download a nomination form, visit

For more information on the DSA program, contact Liliana Tangwall, or +1-608-395-2043.

World Council of Credit Unions is the global trade association and development platform for credit unions. World Council promotes the sustainable development of credit unions and other financial cooperatives around the world to empower people through access to high quality and affordable financial services. World Council advocates on behalf of the global credit union system before international organizations and works with national governments to improve legislation and regulation. Its technical assistance programs introduce new tools and technologies to strengthen credit unions' financial performance and increase their outreach.

World Council has implemented 300+ technical assistance programs in 89 countries. Worldwide, 89,026 credit unions in 117 countries serve 260 million people. Learn more about World Council's impact around the world at

NOTE: Click on photos to view/download in high resolution.

Phone: (608) 395-2000