Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Digital Growth Award?

As part of World Council's Challenge 2025 initiative, the Digital Growth Award is presented annually to recognize one or more member credit union associations or individual member credit unions for implementing digital solutions that promote financial inclusion, innovation and scalability. Winners are recognized at World Council's Annual General Meeting (AGM) during the World Credit Union Conference. This year's AGM will be held on Monday, July 24 at the 2023 World Credit Union Conference in Vancouver.

Why was the Digital Growth Award created?

It originated in 2021 as a way to recognize member credit union associations or individual member credit unions working toward World Council's Challenge 2025 goal of expanding digital transformation in the global credit union system. 

What are the selection criteria?

The nominated World Council member credit union association or member credit union must show it has implemented a digital solution(s) that is: 

Inclusive: It expanded financial inclusion by reaching members of underserved communities.

Innovative: It was groundbreaking for your organization by reducing costs, streamlining operations or improving member experience.

Scalable: The goal of World Council’s Challenge 2025 initiative is to spread digital transformation to credit unions around the globe. With that in mind, the digital solution must be scalable for use or replication by other credit union associations or credit unions in your country or region.

Who can nominate a credit union association or credit union for a Digital Growth Award?

Nominations must be submitted by a World Council member association. You can find a full list of members here

Who selects the recipients?

An independent judging panel of digital finance experts will assess the applicants and select the recipients.

How do I apply?

Nominations for the 2023 Digital Growth Award are now closed. 

What if I still have questions after reading the FAQs?


2022 Recipients

Northpark Community Credit Union (Indiana - USA)

Nominated by the Indiana Credit Union League, Northpark CCU (USA) received a Digital Growth Award for its Virtual Branching initiative, developed and implemented to deliver on a goal of closing all brick-and-mortar branches in favor of e-services and ATMs.

Sicredi (Brazil)

Sicredi, the largest credit union system in Brazil, received a Digital Growth Award for CPR Facil—its first 100% digital agribusiness product that allows members to take out loans using a mobile phone.

Past Recipients


Asian Confederation of Credit Unions (ACCU), the Philippine Federation of Credit Cooperatives (PFCCO) and the National Association of Credit Cooperatives (NATCCO - Philippines) for their collaborative work on the Kaya Payment Platform.