Last Call for WOCCU DSA Nominations

Prestigious Honor Recognizes Credit Unions’ Best

March 15, 2011

 2011_3_15_Harriet May DSA Award
CUNA Chair Harriet May accepted her 2010 Distinguished Service Award from WOCCU Chair Barry Jolette.

MADISON, Wis. — The deadline is coming due for nominations for World Council of Credit Unions' (WOCCU) Distinguished Service Award (DSA). Nominees for the global credit union movement's most distinguished honor must be submitted to WOCCU headquarters by Friday, March 25. Recipients will be honored at WOCCU's World Credit Union Conference, scheduled for July 24-27 in Glasgow, Scotland.

DSA honors are presented to individuals and organizations that have provided exemplary service to the global credit union movement in support of the concept of improving people's lives through credit unions. WOCCU does not award the DSA every year, choosing instead to bestow the honor based on the viability and worthiness of candidates in the eyes of the awards committee.

"The Distinguished Service Award recognizes the best of the best within the credit union movement," said WOCCU Director Ron Hance, president and CEO of Heritage Family Credit Union in Rutland, Vt., and chair of the WOCCU Awards Committee. "Our hope is that DSA will continue to foster excellence in service among credit union individuals and organizations worldwide."

In 2010, DSA honors were awarded to Lech Kaczyński, the deceased president of Poland who was central in helping establish the country's credit union movement; CUNA Chair Harriet May, president and CEO of GECU of El Paso (Texas); and Credit Union Executives Society (CUES), the Madison, Wis.-based professional development organization for credit union executives.

"We're not an island unto ourselves, something I realized as I reached out to our neighbor to the south, working in ways that impacted my government, my community and my country," said May upon receiving the award at the 1 Credit Union Conference in Las Vegas this past July. "If I have been one drop in the sea that lifts the life of one individual, then I have been successful."

In the case of individuals, DSA recipients may be WOCCU member organization officers, directors or representatives; international credit union pioneers; field technicians with a long and outstanding service record; or persons whose actions have benefitted global credit union development. WOCCU may present up to three individual awards in a single year.

Institutional recipients may be organizations or agencies that have provided financial or technical assistance to develop international credit union movements and their service infrastructures over an extended period of time. WOCCU presents no more than one institutional award each year.

Nominations must be made by a WOCCU member organization and are due no later than Friday, March 25, 2011. For more information on the DSA and to download a nomination form, visit

World Council of Credit Unions is the global trade association and development agency for credit unions. World Council promotes the sustainable development of credit unions and other financial cooperatives around the world to empower people through access to high quality and affordable financial services. World Council advocates on behalf of the global credit union system before international organizations and works with national governments to improve legislation and regulation. Its technical assistance programs introduce new tools and technologies to strengthen credit unions' financial performance and increase their outreach.

World Council has implemented 300+ technical assistance programs in 89 countries. Worldwide, 68,882 credit unions in 109 countries serve 235 million people. Learn more about World Council's impact around the world at

NOTE: Click on photos to view/download in high resolution.

Organization: World Council of Credit Unions
Phone: (608) 395-2000