Nine Named to WOCCU’s International Executive Volunteer Corps

September 25, 2009

Organization: World Council of Credit Unions
Phone: (608) 395-2000

MADISON, Wis.—World Council of Credit Unions (WOCCU) has welcomed nine new credit union professionals to its International Executive Volunteer Corps (IEVC). The corps, established in 1995, recognizes inductees for their years of international service to WOCCU.

The 2009 inductees are: Mike Delker, vice president of credit union relations for the Texas Credit Union League; Pat Drennan, president and CEO of 1st Gateway Credit Union, Camanche, Iowa; Patrick Jury, president and CEO of the Iowa Credit Union League (ICUL); Mike Lanotte, senior vice president of association services for the Credit Union Association of New York; Luis Lopez, executive president of Cooperativa Abraham Rosa, Puerto Rico; Sue Mitchell, CEO of Mitchell, Stankovic & Associates, Boulder City, Nev.; Murray Williams, COO of ICUL; Vicki Williams, formerly senior executive vice president and COO of the Alabama Credit Union League (ACUL), now executive vice president of association services at the League of Southeastern Credit Unions; and Gary Wolter, formerly president and CEO of ACUL, now retired.

"These are individuals who have repeatedly given their time and expertise to credit unions around the world," said Brian Branch, WOCCU executive vice president and COO. "Their volunteer work enables us to reach out to many more credit unions than we can by ourselves."

IEVC members and other volunteers contribute valuable technical assistance and credit union industry know-how, bolstering WOCCU's efforts in developing countries. Participants also gain international development experience through volunteer service to the global credit union movement.

"Credit unions derive their strength from volunteer efforts," said Pete Crear, WOCCU president and CEO. "Thanks to the generosity of this year's inductees and those who have come before, we've been able to tap into this vital energy and commitment on behalf of credit unions worldwide."

Past inductees into the four-year-old program include: Pat Bodnar, Arizona Credit Union League; Carlos Calderón, OAS Staff Federal Credit Union; Kathy Chartier, Members Credit Union; David Chatfield, formerly of the California & Nevada Credit Union Leagues (CCUL); Anne Cochran, Louisiana Credit Union League; Letty Cordon-Hernandez, formerly with CCUL; Richard Ensweiler, Texas Credit Union League (TCUL); John Florian, Ohio Credit Union League; Mary Martha Fortney, National Association of State Credit Union Supervisors (NASCUS); Dana Hofmann-Geye, formerly with the Minnesota Credit Union Network; David Low, OSU Federal Credit Union; Kurt Lykins, Corporate One Federal Credit Union; Rick Myxter, Pennsylvania Credit Union League; Barbara Pogue, NASCUS; Bill Raker, US Federal Credit Union; Kasey Rockwell, Credit Union Association of Oregon; Marcus Schaefer, Truliant Federal Credit Union; Sarah Turner, Maryland & D.C. Credit Union Association; and Linda Webb-Mañon, TCUL.

World Council of Credit Unions is the global trade association and development agency for credit unions. World Council promotes the sustainable development of credit unions and other financial cooperatives around the world to empower people through access to high quality and affordable financial services. World Council advocates on behalf of the global credit union system before international organizations and works with national governments to improve legislation and regulation. Its technical assistance programs introduce new tools and technologies to strengthen credit unions' financial performance and increase their outreach.

World Council has implemented 300+ technical assistance programs in 89 countries. Worldwide, 68,882 credit unions in 109 countries serve 235 million people. Learn more about World Council's impact around the world at